Gifties: Fam Knittery

24 Dec

My first knitting project was a hooded baby blankie for my niece, Lulu. And I finally have a pic!

This is Lulu! Shes 5 months old now, and shes an absolutely adorable little firecracker! Shes starting to get teeth and trying to crawl already!

This is Lulu! She’s 5 months old now, and she’s an absolutely adorable little firecracker! She’s starting to get teeth and trying to crawl and talk already!

Here’s the pattern I followed: http://thriftyknitter.com/?p=293, except I decided to crochet the border because it’s faster. đŸ˜€ And also, because this was my first knitting project ever, I did a garter stitch (knit every row) for the whole blankie. This is meant to be a light blankie for during the summer, so that pattern calls for Cotton-Ease for breathability. I used Lake and Taupe. And this was my first introduction to my now-cherished number 7 us – 32 in. circular needle!

Lulu’s mom, my sis Liz, also crochets!

Lizzie showing off the really cool baby blankie that shes making for her friend! I think this is called a puff stitch.

Lizzie showing off the really cool baby blankie that she’s making for her friend! I think this is called a puff stitch.

Someday I hope my crocheting can look as lovely as Lizzie’s projects!!

3 Responses to “Gifties: Fam Knittery”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Blanket for Rose Madeleine « Mein Craft Haus - December 29, 2009

    […] Blanket for Rose Madeleine By Chrissy K. The first thing that I knit was a hooded baby blanket for my first niece Lulu. When I found out my second niece was on her way, I decided to knit her a blanket too. I used the […]

  2. Devil-y First-Ever Crocheted Hats! « Mein Craft Haus - October 27, 2010

    […] a hat before, but when my sis Liz mentioned that she wanted crocheted devil hats for Rosie and Lulu (my 11-month-old and 2-year-old nieces)… how could I resist an adorable challenge like […]

  3. Gifties: Some Goodies for Riley Paige « Mein Craft Haus - January 18, 2013

    […] used a breathable cotton blend yarn in a garter stitch and a crocheted border for warm-weather-baby Lulu, and I used warmer yarn in a stockinette stitch with a broken rib border for winter-born […]

Leave a comment