Homestead: Cut-Paper Spring Wreath

24 Apr

Made a spring-time wreath for our front door! I was inspired by this very lovely project: Gorgeous DIY Paper Wreath.

The leaves lay flat because I used glue instead of staples. I’m fine with it (though I really do love the 3-D-ness of the wreath in that link!).

The leaves are made from really pretty paper I found at Paper Source. Some sort of shimmery ink was used to make the patterns on the paper, so there’s a nice play between natural/hand-made-looking paper and pops of shimmery-ness.

The bird design was inspired by an image from one of my fave stock image sites. I used scraps of paper that I happened to have left over from other projects. The copper paper is shimmery, which echoes the shimmery-ness of the rest of the wreath.

I used a lighter-weight cardboard instead of the usual bookboard, since it’s easier to cut in to a circle. But this means that the wreath started to bow pretty soon after hanging it on the door. 😦 Maybe next year I’ll try to fix it by adding heavier-weight cardboard to the back.

You can’t really tell, but I used a semi-sheer, shimmery, copper-y ribbon to tie it to the door.

Unlike the Vintage Valentines wreath, this did not get a complement by the mailman. Ah well! It makes me happy to see it whenever I come home, so that’s what counts!

2 Responses to “Homestead: Cut-Paper Spring Wreath”

  1. Karissa April 24, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    So fabulous! And springy!

    • Chrissy K. April 24, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

      Why thank ye kindly! Have an idea for what I want to make for summertime, nothing too fancy but I’m hoping it will be colorful!

Leave a Reply

