Homestead Gifties: Spiral Apple Tawashi!

26 Nov

My friend Melanie had made herself a pretty rad lunch bag out of cool apple-patterned fabric, and I wanted to crochet something for her to match. I found this free Lion Brand crochet pattern for a spiral apple tawashi scrubber, and I thought it’d be a fun thing to use to clean lunch dishes and containers at work.

Using my trusty G crochet hook and some Sugar’n Cream yarn (Melanie likes cotton for crocheted tawashis) in red, green, and brown (sorry, I’m not sure of the exact colors, I lost the outer band around the yarn that tells you all about it), I tried out this interesting pattern. I’d never crocheted a spiral on to a crocheted base before, but it ended up being pretty straight-forward and fun!

It’s so adorable! I took this photo with my cell phone, hence the blurriness…

Since Halloween was coming up, I decided to make a pumpkin one by using orange yarn instead of red. And I used Red Heart Super Saver yarn in orange, green, and brown, because I heard that acrylic yarn is tougher and better mimics commercial dish scrubbers.

It looks reddish, but really it’s bright orange! The photo’s less blurry because I used an iPhone instead of my own phone.

Here’s a shot of the back hand strappy. Also, I had briefly misplaced the pattern, so I made up how to do the leaf. It came out okay for something I pulled out of thin air.

Then, I realized I wanted a green one for my kitchen. So I used bright lime green yarn for the spiral part!

Tim’s mom let me borrow her camera, so here’s the green apple tawashi, hanging out on my kitchen window sill. The color’s actually slightly brighter, but the overcast lighting from outside is calming it down a bit. If you look closely, you can see some food still stuck in it from when we wash the dishes.

So yep, I’ve become slightly obsessed with this pattern. Next, I wanna make the Apple Slice Tawashi Scrubber!

One Response to “Homestead Gifties: Spiral Apple Tawashi!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More October Crafts « Mein Craft Haus - November 28, 2010

    […] Halloween wreath, crocheted those two devil hats for my baby nieces, and went crazy with those spiral apple tawashis. And also, this stuff […]

Leave a Reply

