Homestead: Halloween Wreath

21 Oct

I wasn’t able to do any insane Halloween decorations this year, but I was able to make at least one fun thing: a Halloween Wreath!

Close-up of monster faces.

I really wanted to make a Halloween wreath (and my upstairs neighbor made one for their door too so it’s adorable that we both have one!), and I wanted to do something with classic movie monsters. If you can’t tell, I decided on Frankenstein‘s monster, Dracula, The Wolf Man, the Creature from the Black Lagoon, and The Mummy. I also made a little skull face for the center of the ribbon.

I made these dudes out of thick book board and acrylic and gouache paints. Cutting them out was a pain, I ended up using heavy-duty kitchen scissors and it took a couple of hours. Worth it though!

I got the ribbons and actual wreath from A.C. Moore, and the cool leafy garland from the Christmas Tree Shops.

This is what the whole wreath looks like hanging on our door. I didn't make the skeleton hanging in the middle; he's one of three that's also hanging on our door. Another Christmas Tree Shops special!

Thanks to Tim for letting me use his iPhone to take pics (I don’t have a camera anymore). I like how the monster colors came out almost neon!

One Response to “Homestead: Halloween Wreath”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More October Crafts « Mein Craft Haus - November 28, 2010

    […] was a busy month!! I made that Classic Movie Monsters Halloween wreath, crocheted those two devil hats for my baby nieces, and went crazy with those spiral apple […]

Leave a Reply

