Homestead: Amigurumi Christmas Tree!

28 Dec

Happy Belated Christmas! Continuing the trend of making things for myself, I decided to spend the month of December crocheting amigurumi guys for my 4-ft. chartreuse Christmas tree. I had grand ideas of covering every free spot with cute crocheted versions of things that Tim and I like, but alas I only managed to finish seven things before the holiday.

View 1

View 2

View 3

At least there’s always next year to add more fun! Here’s a closer look at the patterns I used:

Super Mario Invincibility Star:

The Super Mario Invincibility Star as a tree topper? CUTE!!

Super Mario Super Mushroom:

Continuing my obsession with 8-bit and Tim's love for video games, I also made a Super Mushroom!

Super Mario Bob-omb:

Aaaaaaaaaand another Super Mario character! (He was very fun to make!)

Slime:

I never played "Dragon Warrior," but Tim has, so I thought it'd be fun to make a Slime. Even though I made it a bit smaller than the pattern recommended, it still came out huge. And I accidentally over-stuffed it at first, so the crochet holes got really big and stuffing shows through. But he's still cute, and I love that color blue!

Fried Egg:

I sometimes like eating eggs, and when I do, Tim's always wicked nice about cooking them for me. And he makes a very yummy fried egg! That's why there's a fried egg on our tree. I don't know why either the yolk came out way bigger or the white came out way smaller than in the pattern pic. Yet cuteness abounds!

Ghostie:

The real reason I made this one is because it's so cute and I wanted to try my hand at making a picot ruffle. But also, we like watching "Ghost Hunters" and have an interest in the paranormal and "weird" stuff in general, so it's still fitting for the "Things We Like" category! The pattern suggests using glow-in-the-dark yarn; how cool would that be?? I just used white.

Heart:

I draw hearts all over the place because I think it's funny and I like the shape of them. But it's also fitting because Tim and I are in loooooooooooooove. This heart dude came out funky and it was difficult to stuff and make look like a heart. But it was an interesting crocheting experience. And it came out pretty much a heart shape, so, success!

I used a US F5/3.75 MM sized needle for (I think) all of these, and pretty much used Red Heard Classic Solids and Red Heart Super Saver Solids yarn for most of these. And I had fun ordering and using cute safety eyes from CR’s Crafts! (I ordered quite a small collection for these and future projects!)

18 Responses to “Homestead: Amigurumi Christmas Tree!”

  1. Michelle December 28, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Such an adorable tree!

  2. Liz (rippin-kitten) December 29, 2009 at 1:04 am #

    Really really cute! You’re getting really good at that knitting stuffs!

  3. Gina December 29, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    These are adorable, Chrissy!

    (Joann’s is having a yarn sale, fyi:P)

  4. Chrissy K. December 29, 2009 at 7:48 pm #

    Thanks, everyone! And thanks, Gina, for the hot tip. There’s not one near me, so I never really find myself there. Do they have a good yarn selection?

  5. Crissy January 3, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    cute! love the fried egg 😀

    • Chrissy K. January 3, 2010 at 1:55 am #

      Thanks Crissy! I just checked out your blog, I really dig the Cephalopods that you made. Awesome colors! I’m halfway done with a crocheted Cthulu ami that I wanted to make for my tree too. I thought that doing the curly-cue tentacles would be hard, but they’re actually really fun!

  6. bunnybomb January 5, 2010 at 1:51 am #

    omg. too cute. will explode from cuteness overload.

  7. julie k January 7, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    This is a great idea! Thanks for the link to my ghost pattern. Yours turned out fabulous.

    • Chrissy K. January 7, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

      Hey, thank YOU for posting the ghost pattern! It was easy and really really fun!

  8. Aimee January 13, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Best Tree ever.

    I still have my original copy of Dragon Warrior from Christmas of 1988. one of the few remaining relics of my childhood, with my dude that I used to beat it.

    Also, for the longest time my e-mail address was based on what my brother and I named that character (by randomly mashing buttons): Edccyon…it forms sort of a triangle on the name entry screen.

    DORKFEST.
    I may have to comission you to make me a “metal slime”. Or trade for a felt Toki, which is what I am making Carlos at the moment, and will probably make you weep for joy.

    • Chrissy K. January 13, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

      Aimee, I forsee a beautiful friendship heavily based on making nerdy stuff for each other. I will start looking for metallic yarn!

      I’ll think about what I wanna trade for it. A felt Toki is nice (and I can’t wait to seee how it turns out!), but I have a weird personal aversion to felt.

  9. Aimee January 13, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Righty-o. But he has vinyl boots that come on and off… HAHAH

    Vanna white has a silver yarn that I was tempted to buy the other day, despite the fact that I haven’t crocheted since I was 7, or knitted since 2003. I just don’t remember how.

    • Chrissy K. January 13, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

      Oh, Vanna! Thanks for the tip! And if you ever wanna get back into knitting or crocheting, just lemme know. Because it’s what I like to do.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coolest Crochet Super Mario Amigurumi Ever § Code Retard - March 4, 2010

    […] Amigurumi Christmas Tree! « Mein Craft Haus […]

  2. More October Crafts « Mein Craft Haus - November 28, 2010

    […] the ghost from my Amigurumi Christmas Tree last year? I loved the little picot ruffle at the edge of it so much that I was inspired to make […]

  3. Video Game Goodness « Mein Craft Haus - July 19, 2011

    […] my Amigurumi Christmas Tree that I love to talk about? Well last Christmas I decided to make it a straight-up Video Game Tree, […]

  4. Homestead: Cute’thulhu! « Mein Craft Haus - January 18, 2013

    […] found this pattern for Tiny Cthulhu on Ravelry, and started it in December for My Amigurumi X-Mas Tree. But then I ran out of time and patience and put it in hibernation. A few months later, after […]

Leave a Reply

