Homestead: SKETCHBOOK Part 1

22 Oct

I originally posted this on my MySpace blog a while ago (Saturday, June 02, 2007). Reposting here for your enjoyment, and to kind of explain the next post!

*******************

In my last entry (** Ignore that! -CK **) I mentioned that I never have time to draw. It’s still true, but I remembered what I do have time to do. SKETCHBOOKS!! Cyrus Highsmith (my independent Type Design teacher) loves sketchbooks, and, since he’s kind of famous and awesome, I thought I’d give them a whirl.

My sketchbooks turned out to be more of a collection of things that I, uh, collect. I collect things that I think are visually interesting or funny or weird or stuff that I just like. Realizing I needed a place for all this random inspiration, I started taping this stuff into my sketchbooks.

So really my Sketchbooks are Things That Inspire Me Plus Some Ideas That I Have.

Here are some pages from my first, and most complete, sketchbook!

This 6 x 8.5 sketchbook is a graduation gift from Kai Yee! The cover now features a partial baby-in-a-grape-costume (yikes!!) and some skinny black tape that I use to tape back pages.

This 6" x 8.5" sketchbook is a graduation gift from Kai Yee! The cover now features a partial baby-in-a-grape-costume (yikes!!) and some skinny black tape that I use to tape back pages.

Inside Cover.

Inside Cover.

Taking notes, writing down ideas, and client sketches.

Taking notes, writing down ideas, and client sketches.

Personal Design/Presentation ideas.

Personal Design/Presentation ideas.

Obligatory Adam Ant page.

Obligatory Adam Ant page.

Notes on a lecture by Linda Norren on Ed Ruscha; crazy clippings from a Security Guard stuff catalog.

Notes on a lecture by Linda Norren on Ed Ruscha; crazy clippings from a Security Guard stuff catalog.

I love stickers!

I love stickers!

I love stickers and Christmas!

I love stickers and Christmas!

I love Christmas and gambling!

I love Christmas and gambling!

I love packaging!

I love packaging!

Drawing, stickers, an old greeting card.

Drawing, stickers, an old greeting card.

Playing around with materials for self-promo stuff (Senior Jury/Portfolio class at AIB).

Playing around with materials for self-promo stuff (Senior Jury/Portfolio class at AIB).

Inside Back Cover: more self-promo experiments, and Preppy Party costume idea.

Inside Back Cover: more self-promo experiments, and Preppy Party costume idea.

Leave a Reply

