Gifties: First Ever Stripey Scarf

7 Aug

Oh Craft Blog, I am so sorry that I’ve neglected you!! I’ve been terribly busy this summer, but that’s for another post. And I know that excuses won’t take away the pain, but hey, guess what? I’M BACK!

So I finished this scarf for my boyfriend Tim back in May, I think. Yup, just in time for summer!

So yeah, green & black stripes! First time doing colored stripes, so to keep it easy I just did a stockinette stitch. I used my trusty 7 circular needles, and did 42 stitches across and kept on knitting for about 58 inches. The green stripes are all different sizes; Id like to say its because Im creative, but really its becasue I fudged up the first few stripes so I just went with it! Oh, and used cotton yarn so it can be machine-washed for easy care.

So yeah, as he requested: green and black stripes! First time doing colored stripes, so to keep it easy I just did a garter stitch. I used my trusty 7 circular needles, and did 42 stitches across and kept on knitting for about 58 inches. The green stripes are all different lengths; I'd like to say it's because I'm creative, but really it's because I fudged up the first few stripes so I just went with it! Oh, and used Berroco Comfort (in Liquorice and Lovage) for its softness and washability. The edges are a bit wobbly but maybe it'll straighten out once it has been washed a few times...

I wanted to make it long enough to be able to wrap around a few times for extra warmth in the winter. Which isnt really necessary this time of year: in the middle of summer in New England...

I wanted to make it long enough to be able to wrap around a few times for extra warmth in the winter. Which isn't really necessary this time of year: in the middle of summer in New England...

Hey, whaddaya want, Im a good boyfriend so sure Ill pose wearing a scarf in August!

"Hey, whaddaya want, I'm a good boyfriend so sure I'll pose wearing a scarf in August!"

2 Responses to “Gifties: First Ever Stripey Scarf”

  1. Melanie August 8, 2009 at 2:09 pm #

    My, what a handsome and gracious scarf model you have. Where might I find one of those? (In female form, of course.)

    The scarf looks great, and it’s fun to see how it will be used. You’ll have to do an update when it starts snowing so we can see Tim enjoying it according to God’s plan.

    (Psst: the stitch you used was garter, not stockinette…)

    • Chrissy K. August 9, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

      Thanks Mel!! I don’t know why I had “stockinette stitch” on the brain, I fixed it. Can’t wait to see YOUR scarf!!

Leave a Reply

