Gifties: Washcloths for Peace

13 Oct

My friend Melanie recently taught me how to knit and crochet. Over the summer, I’d completed my first project, which was a (lumpy/hole-y/full of character) hooded blanket for my little niece Lucy (who is now about 12 weeks old and is soooooooooo cute!).

After this experience, I realized that I LOVE TO KNIT!! Melanie started a Lunchtime Kitting group at work (we work together); a group of us meet once as week and we all knit or crochet or sew or do other crafty things for an hour. It’s so awesome to have a support group to help me with any questions or issues that I have about my projects, and it’s great having time out of the week that’s actually dedicated to knitting!

Melanie knits for charities (among other things), and I got interested in contributing too. She hooked me up with A Fresh Start, a volunteer knitting initiative started by Beth123b of the Peace Work group on Ravelry.com; she is collecting travel-size toiletries and handmade washcloths to be donated to a women’s shelter in her ‘hood. I’ve knitted three washcloth’s so far, check ’em out!

Not bad for my 2nd, 3rd, & 4th completed knitting projects (respectively), eh?

Not bad for my 2nd, 3rd, & 4th completed knitting projects (respectively), eh? I figured (hoped?) that I could handle knitting a square.

The pattern is something from the Lion Brand Website, but you have to be a member to log in and see it, but basically you

-cast on 46 stitches

-knit 2 rows

-knit 1 stitch then purl 1 stitch alternately for two rows

-repeat the knit 2, knit/purl 2, until you reach 9 inches

-bind off!

I used a number 7 us – 32 in. circular needle. I just like using circular needles (I think it’s easier to take your knitting on-the-go!), but it’s not necessary.

The yarn that Melanie suggested to use is a cotton yarn called Sugar ‘n Cream. Not only is it washable, but also the color are very yummy-looking! I really can’t over this yarn. Here are some close-up shots of the colors that I used.

Melanie gave me this yarn to use, I think the color is Shades of Green. The yarn was very soft, so with the colors it reminded me of a soft peppermint, except since its green it would be a spearmint. Mmmmmm.

Melanie gave me this yarn to use, I think the color is "Shades of Green." The yarn was very soft, so with the colors it reminded me of a soft peppermint, except since it's green it would be a spearmint. Mmmmmm.

This colors called Strawberry. It looks just like strawberry ice cream!! And the yarn was a bit fluffier too, adding to the ice cream-ness. Sometimes it reminded me of peppermint ice cream too. Its cool, its all delicious.

This color's called "Strawberry." It looks just like strawberry ice cream!! And the yarn was a bit fluffier too, adding to the ice cream-ness. Sometimes it reminded me of peppermint ice cream too. It's cool, it's all delicious.

This is Summer Splash. To me it looks like... you know those really good Smarties-esque candy necklaces? This reminds me of the other kind, with the bright colors, thats not as tasty but its candy so its still pretty good.

This is "Summer Splash." To me it looks like... you know those really good Smarties-esque candy necklaces? This reminds me of the other kind, with the bright colors, that's not as tasty but it's candy so it's still pretty good.

I’m really hungry now, I’m going to go make some dinner!

2 Responses to “Gifties: Washcloths for Peace”

  1. Melanie October 13, 2008 at 10:10 pm #

    The washcloths look great.

    Oops. I mean the facecloths.

    I think we might hit a double digit count for our shipment to A Fresh Start!

    Yay Team Facecloth!

  2. Julia October 14, 2008 at 4:47 am #

    Yay Chrissy, isn’t it awesome to have something you made with your own hands? it’s useful and going to charity and cute…right on!!

    Just added your bloggy to mine! 😉

Leave a Reply

